Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Tutorials: Getting Started with Research
These interactive tutorial videos will introduce you to the basic skills and knowledge you need to get your research started. (Note: Tutorials have video and audio components)
Where can I find Primary Sources?
A collection of databases and links that can help you find primary source data. If you don't see a collection that quite fits your needs, one starting strategy is to search for collection of [your topic] or archive of [your topic] in google.
ARTstor is a collection of over a million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences covering many time periods and cultures. Users can search, view and download images for educational and research purposes.
Digital Theatre +
Performances of plays, operas, dance, and more available for viewing. In addition to the productions, Digital Theatre explores the roles essential to production such as director, costumer, musicians, lighting and offers a section on theory and criticism.
Provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization," for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Discover the lively news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
Archive includes the scanned images of over 1128 scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Collections of images, manuscripts, recordings, film, and more. If you're interested in advertising materials, the printed ephemera collection can be a good place to start!
Provides access to news, business, and legal information. News content is pulled from major national and international news sources; business content includes profiles and news; and legal information includes cases and associated coverage. Previously LexisNexis.
Covers a wide range of topics and document types. Depending on topic, limit to news, research, data, or images to find primary sources.
Demographic data visualization and research site allows users to generate vector maps in formats including side-by-side, multivariable, swipe maps, street level and satellite views. Data reports and downloads are easily created and exported from current and historical (220+ years) demographic data.
Statista integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Statistics, industry reports, company dossiers, and forecasts are some of the content available for download in multiple formats.
A large collection of images, sounds, music, etc. Be sure to check the copyright status of any work you would like to incorporate. This site also collects old websites through its "Wayback Machine."
Below is a list of specific journals that might be useful for your research in this course. It is not comprehensive. Depending on your topic, there may be many more in the databases listed above that will have good information you can use!