Welcome to Science & Technical Communications!
Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Science & Technical Communications Course Guides
Start Your Research
Start your research by finding background information on writing styles, the writing process, industries, and more.
- Communicating in Science : writing a scientific paper and speaking at scientific meetings byCall Number: Q223 .B665 1993ISBN: 0521429153Main Collection - Third Floor
Key Resources
Databases
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of science and technical communications topics.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.
- Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new windowEngineering and applied science research from 1884 to the present.
Books
- Humanistic Aspects of Technical Communication byCall Number: T 10.5 .H86 1994ISBN: 0895031590Main Collection - Third Floor
- Visualizing Technical Information byCall Number: QA90 .B6696 2003ISBN: 0895032406Main Collection - Third Floor
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.
