Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
Visual & Performing Arts Course Guides
Start Your Research
Databases
Start your research by finding background information on plays, acting styles, visual aids, and more.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowA guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words -- past and present-- from across the English-speaking world.
Books
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance byCall Number: PN2035 .O94 2003ISBN: 0198601743Publication Date: 2003-05-01Main Collection - Third Floor
V.1 and V.2 available.
Key Resources
Databases
These resources go into more depth and detail on a wide range of visual and performing arts.
- Art Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984.
- Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind detailed indexing for periodicals covering the humanities dating as far back as 1984, including information from a variety of resources and original works, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowClassified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Readers' Guide Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearch abstracts and indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 from a variety of subjects including entertainment, film & television, literature, photography, popular & classical music, popular culture and more.
Journals
- Communication ArtsAvailable in the library.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
NC997.A1 C2 - Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and SciencesAvailable online and in the library.
Serials Collection-Garden Level
Q11 .A52p
Books
- The Lively Audience : a social history of the visual and performing arts in America, 1890-1950 byCall Number: NX180.M3 L96 1985ISBN: 0060912545Main Collection - Third Floor
General Resources
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects and topics and so may contain information relevant to your topic.
Visit the Journals search, Databases A-Z list, and Library Catalog for more resources.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that cover a very wide range of subjects. Find articles, data, reports, magazines, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and scanned images of back issues of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas. Its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed. Includes primary source material.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.
