Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Library Session Materials
Journals are published periodically throughout a year and contain articles on a specific topic. The journals below all focus very specifically on the intersection of environmental science and society.
Use this link for Google Scholar and it will recognize you as a Michigan Tech user. Along the right side of your results list will be a HuskyFetch link that you can use to either access full text within our databases or request the full text from interlibrary loan. Google Scholar searches many resources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and more. It can be a good place to start your research and cast a wide search net.
Databases are collections of journal articles, newspapers, magazines, technical reports, images, and more on a particular topic. They are typically more broad in coverage than a single journal might be and so are great places to start your research.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Find citations & abstracts of articles on all types of animals as well as related social science topics (economics, management, ecotourism, etc.)
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity. Also includes microbiology, evolution, immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
A collection of journals, articles, reports, conference proceedings, books, and government documents all dealing with environmental science topics.
Archive includes the scanned images of over 1128 scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines including: Biology, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Health, History, Life sciences, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO)
Citations and abstracts of social sciences articles across a wide range of topics.
Web of Science
The Web of Science covers a broad range of disciplines with content dating from 1900 to the present day.
The following sections of the library may have relevant resources. Look for these numbers on the labels at the end of the shelves. You can find books on the third floor and journals (also known as serials or periodicals) on the Garden level.
- GE Environmental Sciences
- S Agriculture
- SF Animal Culture
- SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
- SK Hunting Sports (includes)
- sk351-579 Wildlife management
- SK590-593 Wild animal trade
- SK650-664 Wildlife-related recreation
You can also search the catalog and use the "Subjects" in each record as a jumping off point to find more resources.