Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Top 5 Library FAQ's:
External Writing Websites
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
From the Engineeering Department at Penn State
Professional Technical Writing
From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Better Writing Guide
From Oxford University Press. More general writing tips, not geared towards the sciences.
Scientific Writing Resource
From the Duke University Graduate School
Class Materials
Recommended Databases
Below are some engineering databases where you can find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and standards. For additional resources, please visit the library's Database A-Z list and Catalog.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowOnline or mobile access to over 200 engineering sources including the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, PE exam study for civil engineering and other ebooks.
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present; abstracts of ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present; ASME Press eBooks selected from 1998 to the present.
- Engineering Village Compendex This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive access to the latest engineering research covering engineering and applied science, containing over seven million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Compendex includes Engineering Index (1884-1969) and is also commonly known as Engineering Village.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks (Contains CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new windowCompiles a wide range of information previously published in CRC engineering handbooks. Current coverage includes general, structural, electrical, mechanical, civil, environmental, remediation, and optomechanical engineering.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text articles from all journals published by IEEE and IEE (the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text for all IEEE and IEE conference proceedings and standards is included as is select legacy content dating back to 1950.
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering, Biotechnology & BioEngineering Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, and Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts. Also contains engineering related full-text articles, and granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowResearch in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Includes full text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present and SAE journal articles from 1998 to present. SAE standards are listed with abstracts, but the full text is not available in Mobilis.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches ISI citation indexes for Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences for articles that cite a known author or work, or search by subject, author, journal, and author address. Based on the Web of Knowledge platform. Covers over 12,000 journals.
Scientific Writing Books
The library has many books on scientific writing. In the library catalog, select Subject Keyword in the drop-down menu and try "Communication in Science," "Communication in Engineering," or "Technical Writing."
Below are just a few of the many books we have on this topic.
From Research to Manuscript by ISBN: 9781402094675Publication Date: 2009-01-01This is an e-book. Scroll to "View Online" on the record page. The links in this session will direct you to one or more platforms where this work is available via Michigan Tech's subscriptions.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Call Number: T11 .D33 2011
The Practice of Technical and Scientific Communication by Call Number: T11 .P73 1997
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing by ISBN: 9781441997883Publication Date: 2011-05-05This is an e-book. Scroll to "View Online" on the record page. The links in this session will direct you to one or more platforms where this work is available via Michigan Tech's subscriptions.
Writing for Science by Call Number: T11 .G626 2006This book is also available as an ebook. Scroll to "View Online" on the record page. The links in this session will direct you to one or more platforms where this work is available via Michigan Tech's subscriptions.
