ASTM, ISO, and IEC Standards
Access the Annual ASTM Handbook of standards and many ISO and IEC standards via the ASTM Compass platform. Michigan Tech has specifically subscribed to a collection containing ISO and IEC standards adopted by the European Commission for Standardization (CEN), including EN ISO and EN IEC standards. Use the link below or navigate to ASTM Compass via the Databases search on the library's home page.
-
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowASTM Compass provides full-text access to ASTM standards, journals, practical how-to manuals and technical monographs, symposia and special technical papers, data series and historical collections including bulletins, proceedings and more. Standards include the complete ASTM Annual Book of Standards as well as historical and withdrawn standards, as well as many associated standards research reports. Active standards are updated weekly.
When checking to see if Michigan Tech has access to a particular standard, limit the search in ASTM Compass to "My Subscription" content. From here you can either search by standard name / number or by keyword.
Alternatively, select the "Subscriptions" tab on the ASTM Compass homepage and select either ASTM or UNE. This will limit all of your searches to just the Annual Handbook Collection or UNE, which is the collection containing the EN ISO and EN IEC standards we have access to.
After performing a search or navigating to a collection, you can further narrow your results by limiting by publisher. It can also help to sort results by title.
ASME Standards
Access all ASME standards except for the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC) via the ASME Standards Collection platform. Use the link below or navigate to the ASME Standards Collection via the Databases search on the library's home page.
-
ASME Standards Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text online access to all current and historical standards produced by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), except for the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. Standards are searchable by number or keyword and can also be browsed by topic. To access the library's subscription, click the link with the text “Click here” found in the login box in the upper right corner of the screen. Create a personal account while using the library's subscription to gain access to additional features, such as the ability to create bookmarks and annotations. The print function is found in the “Tools” menu for each standard.
IEEE Standards
Access the majority of standards published by IEEE via the IEEE Xplore platform. Use the link below or navigate to IEEE Xplore via the Databases search on the library's home page. Standards can be found on IEEE Xplore by selecting "Standards" from the browse menu or by conducting a search and then limiting the search results to standards by selecting the "Standards" box from the filter towards the top of the screen.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings and standards published by IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Select legacy content dating back to 1950 is also included.
SAE Standards
Access a large number of the standards published by SAE via the SAE Mobilus platform. Use the link below or navigate to SAE Mobilus via the Databases search on the library's home page. Standards can be found on SAE Mobilus by selecting "Standards" underneath the platform's search bar or by conducting a search and then limiting the search results to standards by using the "Content Type" filter on the left side of the page.
-
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowFull text of all SAE Technical Papers from 1906 to present as well as SAE Ground Vehicles and Aerospace Standards, both historical and current. Subjects cover all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Additional database content includes abstracts to journal articles, magazine articles, conference proceedings, special papers from SAE and other engineering societies.