Ask Us
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
OA Works in Digital Commons @ Michigan Tech
To peruse a collection of open access works produced by Michigan Tech authors, visit Michigan Tech Open Access Publications on Digital Commons @ Michigan Tech, the university's digital repository.
How do I publish Open Access?
Authors that wish to publish their work open access should consider two things: locating an OA publisher, and identifying suitable Creative Commons licenses. Use the resources on this page to identify a reputable OA publisher for a variety of content types and hone your knowledge of Creative Commons licenses.
Wanna Work Together? by Creative Commons is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license.
Creative Commons Licenses
|
CC0 Public Domain Dedication - By using CC0, you waive all copyright and related rights to a work to the extent possible under the law. |
| Attribution, CC BY - This is the most open of all licenses offered. Allows others to distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. |
| Attribution-Share Alike, CC BY-SA - This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. |
| Attribution-NonCommercial, CC BY-NC - This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms. |
| Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike, CC BY-NC-SA - This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. |
| Attribution-NoDerivatives, CC BY-ND - This license allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as it is passed along unchanged and in whole, with credit to you. |
| Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs, CC BY-NC-ND - This license is the most restrictive of our six main licenses, only allowing others to download your works and share them with others as long as they credit you, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially. |
Adapted from the Lansing Community College (LCC) Library Research Guide on Open Educational Resource (OER) Edited by Amy Larson by Regina Gong is licensed under a Creative Commons 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license.
Where can I find OA publishers?
The following databases list publishers of a variety of open access content.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Open DOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.
- Publishers of Open Access BooksPart of they Open Access Directory (OAD) this list is maintained by the open access community and hosted by The School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College.