Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Van Pelt and Opie Library is happy to welcome students. This guide has been created with you and your needs in mind and serves as a reference to the library's resources and services. Click on the tabs above for more information and please Contact Us if you need further assistance.
Have a question?
Librarians are available to answer your questions. Click on the Ask Us bubble for FAQs and contact options (chat, email, text, phone).
Frequently Asked Questions
Chemistry, Engineering & Science Databases
Covers major agricultural subject journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
Leads to the latest findings in every area of science, engineering and technology from trade & industrial publications, journals issued by professional & technical societies and specialized subject periodicals.
Engineering Village Compendex
Provides comprehensive access to the latest engineering research covering engineering and applied science taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
Taylor & Francis eBooks (Contains CRCnetBASE)
Compiles a wide range of information in engineering handbooks published by CRC, including energy engineering, estimating and cost engineering, manufacturing & processing, and more than 50 handbooks covering aspects of chemical processing & design
Knovel Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Combines essential and authoritative reference books and databases from more than 30 science and technology publishers and professional societies. To limit your search to the titles included in our subscription, click My Subscription at the top of the screen on the right.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Indexes over 6000 publications in the biological sciences.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (ProQuest)
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
(Chemical Abstracts from 1967 to the present for substance information, 1907 to the present for bibliographic information) - Comprehensive database of the literature of chemistry and related fields. Users MUST REGISTER TO ACCESS (click more...below).
Scope TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Genetic Toxicology (Gene-Tox), Tox Town, Household Product Database, Haz-Map, and TOXMAP. In addition it includes TOXLINE, DART/ETIC, Toxics Release Inventory. Finally, TOXNET also includes ChemIDplus.