Library Resources for Faculty

How do I access journals and databases from off-campus?

• Avoid paywalls by accessing journals and databases from the library website. Authentication with your Michigan Tech username and ISO password is required for accessing library subscriptions from off-campus. Either login first on our authentication page or navigate to online content through our search tabs, located on the main library page.

I need an article but the library doesn't subscribe to the journal. How do I request a PDF of the article?

• Our interlibrary loan system is great for requesting PDFs of journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and anything that isn't available via the library's Journal subscriptions, databases, the MeL catalog, or our online catalog. Your username and ISO password are usually the same credentials that you use to login to your Michigan Tech email account.

How long does it take to receive an article via interlibrary loan?

• Most requests are delivered the same day or within 10 hours.

But I need this article ASAP!

• 4-hour rush service is available for all faculty. Select RUSH when placing a request through Interlibrary Loan.

I have a research or reference question. Who can I contact?

• Reference and Research services are available via email, chat, phone, and text. Please visit our Ask Us page for contact info and more FAQs.
• To schedule a more in-depth research consultation with a librarian, fill out the Consultation Request Form and a librarian will contact you to confirm your appointment.

I would like the library to consider purchasing materials that support my research. Who can I contact?

• Please Recommend a purchase.

How do I search for and organize a comprehensive list of my cited references?

• The library maintains a Citation Searching guide that details how to download cited reference reports from several databases like Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.

Why does Google Scholar say that I have more citations than Web of Science?

• No single source provides a comprehensive list of citing articles and certain databases are better for your subject area. It is important to collect this information from a variety of resources in order to construct a complete list. For example, many faculty use results from Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar. Our Citation Searching guide provides more information.

What are Michigan Tech's policies about my rights as an author?

• The Michigan Technological University Faculty Handbook, section 3.3.5 addresses Copyright Policy Regarding Scholarly, Academic and Artistic Works. 

Can you recommend a resource where I can learn more about author rights?

• SPARC, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, provides a great collection of resources that will help you learn more about copyright law, fair use, and how to negotiate your rights as an author.

I have questions about transferring my rights. Who can I contact?

• Please direct your questions about author rights to our Scholarly Communications & Copyright Librarian, Nora Allred at nsallred@mtu.edu or (906) 487-3208.

How can I get assistance with managing my research data?

• Consult the library's guide on Data Management.

I have questions about my grant proposal and funding agency requirements. Who can I contact?

• The library's guide on Data Management provides some information on funding agency requirements. The Office of Research can help you write a data management plan that complies with your grant proposal requirements. For more information or to schedule a proposal consultation, please contact the Sponsored Programs Office at 
  rd-l@mtu.edu or (906) 487-3126.

Where can I find information about upcoming library workshops?

• The library offers periodic workshops on a variety of topics like Patent & Trademark searching, using EndNote and Zotero, Library Skills Refreshers, and others. Check out our Workshops page.