Patent Books at the Van Pelt and Opie Library
Patent It Yourself by
Patent your creation with the world's bestselling guide to patents! Have a world-class idea? Ready to protect your invention from copycats? Then turn to the best resource available -- Patent It Yourself. Attorney David Pressman takes you through the entire patent process, providing scrupulously updated information and clear instructions to help you: . determine if you can patent your invention . understand patent law . evaluate the commercial potential of your idea . perform your own patent search . file a provisional patent application . prepare a formal patent application . respond to patent examiners . amend an application . enforce and maintain your patent . market and license your invention Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law, this edition provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new "first to file" rule, which promises to revolutionize patent law. Whether you're new at the inventing game or a grizzled veteran, Patent It Yourself will save you grief, time and money.
Call Number: KF3114.85 .P74 2012ISBN: 9781413317190Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Patent Searching Made Easy by
In the past, if you wanted to assess the novelty of an idea, you had to wade through the patent database at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) in Virginia -- or hire a lawyer to do a patent search for $500 and up. The cost and inconvenience of these searches often meant that good ideas were left to rot on the vine. Patent Searching Made Easy shows you how do patent searches yourself, on the Internet, at little or no cost. Plus, you'll learn how to: . verify the patent status of an idea . prepare for online searches with the right hardware, software and computer skills . access online patent searching resources . narrow online searches with keywords and Boolean logic . perform database searches at Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRC) . do prior art searches at PTRC . search fee-based patent databases on the Internet . search international patent offices . do advanced searches at the PTO and PTRC Written for both inventors and business owners interested in expanding their product line through the license, distribution or manufacture of other people's ideas, Patent Searching Made Easy is the easiest way for you to determine the answer to that all-important question, ""Am I the first?"" A physicist, engineer, and patent searching expert, author David Hitchcock gives you the vocabulary, instructions and strategies you need to search for a patent quickly and easily. He explains how the PTO classifies different types of inventions, so that you can assign your idea to the right class, compare it to related ideas and then determine if it's novel enough to qualify for a patent.
Call Number: T210 .H58 2013ISBN: 9781413318722Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Patent Searching by
Whether you're a patent examiner, patent attorney, commercial patent searcher, patent liaison, IP librarian, law professor, or competitive intelligence analyst, you'll find Patent Searching: Tools and Techniques to be just the guide you have been waiting for, with a range of approaches to patent searching that will be useful to you regardless of your technical expertise or role in the intellectual property community.
Call Number: T210 .H86 2007ISBN: 9780471783794Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Patents and How to Get One: A Practical Handbook by
Handy official guide describes a patent, defines such terms as "patent pending" and "patent applied for," explains process of registering patents, filing fees, and much else -- all in simple, easy-to-understand language.
Call Number: KF3120.Z9 P38 2008ISBN: 9780486411446Publication Date: 2008
Fundamentals of Patenting and Licensing for Scientists and Engineers by
This comprehensive book is the first of its kind to take scientists and engineers beyond simply getting a patent granted. Through the author's extensive technical background and experience in intellectual property licensing, it ties the many technical, legal and business aspects of patent enforcement to the innovation and patenting stage in the patent value chain, with the objective of helping inventors to create valuable patents that can be capitalized.In easy-to-understand language, this book covers various aspects, including basic concepts of patent laws and rules, innovation protection, patenting, patents post-granting and patent licensing. With over 40 tables, 70 figures, nearly 100 cases and examples, and a comprehensive index table, it serves as a practical handbook for inventors and patent practitioners.This second edition incorporates the latest changes in the America Invents Act (AIA), with additional case studies and illustrations throughout the book. For inventors who want to file patents by themselves, this new edition provides guidelines and step-by-step instructions on preparing and filing a US provisional patent application, while avoiding the pitfalls that commonly occur in do-it-yourself patenting.
ISBN: 9789814452533Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers by
The most significant overhaul of the U.S. patent laws in decades occurred with the recent passage of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Understanding the law that dictates what a patent is and how a patent is obtained and enforced, and the recent changes through statute or case law litigation presents unique challenges. This third edition o
ISBN: 9780429099007Publication Date: 2013
Patent, Copyright and Trademark by
A plain-English guide to intellectual property law Whether you are in the world of business or creative arts, you need to understand the laws that govern your work. But given the convoluted terminology that surrounds patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other intellectual property rights, this isn't easy. Enter, Patent, Copyright & Trademark, which explains: what legal rights apply to your creations, products, or inventions the scope of copyright protection how trademark law works, and what trade-secret law protects. Here, you'll find plain-English definitions of intellectual property law terms, straightforward explanations of how intellectual property law affects online content, and much more. The 15th edition is completely updated to provide the latest laws, court decisions, and sample forms.
ISBN: 9781413324624Publication Date: 2017-12-30
Searching for US Patents: USPTO Website
- Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC)Access to the CPC, the joint patent classification scheme developed by the USPTO and the European Patent Office.
United States Patents and Patent Applications can be searched on the USPTO website; however, patents and applications are in separate databases and much be searched separately. Below are links to the databases as well as tutorials and videos on how to search for patents most effectively.
- Patent Public SearchUse Patent Public Search
Patent and application database from the USPTO enables users to search for granted U.S. patents and U.S. patent applications. - Patent Attorney DatabaseSearch here to find a patent attorney or agent in your area. The law prohibits us from recommending a specific patent attorney or agent.
- Patent Process OverviewEverything you need to know from the USPTO about the patent process, from start to finish.
Searching for US Patents: Other Sources
- Google PatentsContains PDFs of patents and applications. Google Patents claims to contain all US patents, but 3rd party searches show that patent coverage is not exhaustive.
Many other databases also index United States patents and applications. If your intent is to conduct a thorough patent search, you should always search multiple databases, as no database will offer 100% coverage.
Searching for Foreign Patents
- EspacenetPatent search engine of the European Patent Office. A list of the countries covered can be found at http://www.epo.org/about-us/organisation/member-states.html
- PatentScopePatent search engine of the World Intellectual Property Organization. Countries and data ranges included can be found at http://patentscope.wipo.int/search/en/help/data_coverage.jsf